What lipedema surgery costs
Published figures run from roughly $6,000-$35,000, quoted on different bases, and a full course spans roughly $12,000-$105,000 depending on the practice and the number of stages. Most practices quote individually after a consult, so the published prices below are the exception.
Published prices by practice
| Practice | Location | Published price | Billed | Financing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Austin Plastic Surgeon | Austin + San Antonio, TX | $6,000–$15,000 | Not specified | — |
| Ditesheim Cosmetic Surgery (EmpowerMD) | Charlotte, NC | $7,900–$20,455 | Per area | Yes |
| The Elston Clinic | Gig Harbor, WA | $10,000–$15,000 | Starting price | Yes |
| Krochmal Plastic Surgery | Hinsdale, IL | $15,000–$35,000 | Not specified | — |
| Natural Results Plastic Surgery | Scottsdale, AZ | $25,000+ | Starting price | Yes |
Every other US practice quotes at consultation. The side-by-side price comparison has the same figures with what each one covers.
What drives the total
A full course averages two to three surgeries. Per-stage pricing understates the real total.
Approval, denial, or an appeal that succeeds changes the number more than any other factor.
Anesthesia, facility fees, garments and aftercare are routinely billed separately.
Most patients leave their state for this surgery, and each stage is another trip.
What does a full course cost?
Lipedema is usually treated in stages rather than one operation. Published research puts the average course at 2-3 surgeries (Herbst et al., PRS Global Open 2021), and per-stage costs among the practices that publish one run from $6,000 at the low end to $35,000 at the high end, quoted on different bases. Combining the per-stage prices US practices publish with the two-to-three-surgery average course reported by Herbst et al. (PRS Global Open, 2021), a full course spans roughly $12,000-$105,000, paid largely out of pocket. That span is the arithmetic of those two figures, the cheapest published price across the fewest stages to the dearest across the most, rather than a measured typical cost. Every cost and insurance number we hold, US and international, sits in one place at lipedema surgery cost and insurance in 2026.
Why does the financing number matter?
Many practices advertise financing options, which reflects how frequently patients fund this procedure themselves rather than through insurance. Filter the directory by financing and published price
What about going abroad?
Lower cost is the main reason patients consider going abroad. Germany has the longest track record and the highest-volume centers in the world, Mexico and Brazil compete directly on price, and Turkey markets heavily to US patients for surgery generally. International centers publish their surgery prices far more often than US practices do, though most still do not, and we compile every published figure side by side at US vs abroad pricing. Those figures are each practice's own published numbers, dated but not verified by us. Below is what changes when you leave the country, because the quoted surgical fee is only part of the comparison.
| United States | Abroad | |
|---|---|---|
| Surgeon volume | Most US practices treat lipedema alongside general plastic surgery. Some publish lymphatic-sparing technique | The German specialist centers publish annual lipedema volumes in the thousands. Those are the clinics' own claims and we have not verified them |
| Price | Most practices quote at consultation. Full course spans roughly $12,000-$105,000 | Routinely marketed below US pricing. Not yet verified by us, and quoted packages frequently exclude garments, follow-up and complications |
| Insurance | Initial denials are common but a covered pathway exists, and a denied claim can be appealed. Some practices publish that they help | Effectively cash. US insurers generally do not reimburse foreign surgeons, and going abroad usually forfeits the appeal route |
| Aftercare | Complications are managed by your surgeon, in your time zone | Often the largest hidden cost. A seroma or infection three weeks later happens after you have flown home, and the operating surgeon may be hard to reach |
| Total to compare | Surgery + garments + travel between stages | Surgery + flights + accommodation + lost work + whatever local aftercare costs if local clinicians are reluctant to manage a foreign surgical result |
Compare the whole number rather than the quoted surgical fee alone. And ask every international clinic one question in writing before you book: who manages a complication once you are home. The answer matters at least as much as the price difference.
International centers we have listed so far
How patients pay: financing, HSA and FSA, payment plans
Insurance and coverage · Appealing a denial · How to get diagnosed
Common questions
How much does lipedema surgery cost in the United States?
US practices that publish a price quote between $6,000 and $35,000, though not on the same basis: some quote per area, some per stage, some for a full course. A full course averages 2-3 surgeries and commonly totals $25,000-$100,000 or more. Most experienced lipedema surgeons are out of network, so plan for significant out-of-pocket cost.
Why do most surgeons not publish lipedema surgery prices?
Price depends on how many areas are treated, how many stages a course needs, and body size, so most practices quote individually after a consult or photo review. That is a real reason. It also means patients cannot easily compare pricing before spending money on consults.
How many lipedema practices work with insurance?
Coverage varies by insurer and is not guaranteed. Most listed practices state an out-of-network or cash-pay position outright. A minority are in network with some payers or file claims for you, and a smaller number again state they have completed a single case agreement. A larger group states it will help with appeals or pre-certification, and that group cuts across every insurance position rather than sitting inside one. Most offer financing, which reflects how often patients ultimately fund the procedure themselves. Each practice's stated position is on its listing and side by side at /compare/insurance/.
Updated