Lipedema surgery cost and insurance in the United States, 2026: data from every listed practice
73 US practices offering lipedema surgery are listed in this directory. 5 of them publish a price for their own surgery, running from $6,000-$35,000 on bases that are not directly comparable. Insurance posture is on record for 25. For the rest, a price is quoted after a consultation.
Price transparency, practice by practice
| Practice | State | Published figure | What the figure covers | Listing last reviewed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Austin Plastic Surgeon | Texas | $6,000-$15,000 | basis not stated | |
| Ditesheim Cosmetic Surgery (EmpowerMD) | North Carolina | $7,900-$20,455 | per area | |
| The Elston Clinic | Washington | $10,000-$15,000 | starting from | |
| Krochmal Plastic Surgery | Illinois | $15,000-$35,000 | basis not stated | |
| Natural Results Plastic Surgery | Arizona | $25,000+ | starting from |
68 of 73 listed practices, 93%, do not publish a figure for lipedema surgery and quote after a consultation.
The published figures rest on different bases. Some are quoted per treated area, some per surgical stage, and some as a starting point for a single procedure. A course of treatment commonly runs to more than one surgery, so a per-area figure and a full-course figure are not comparable quantities, and a ranking by headline number would mislead. Each figure is shown with the basis the practice stated.
State by state
| State | Practices listed | Verified | Publishing a price |
|---|---|---|---|
| California | 14 | 1 | 0 |
| Texas | 8 | 1 | 1 |
| Florida | 7 | 1 | 0 |
| Arizona | 5 | 0 | 1 |
| Georgia | 5 | 0 | 0 |
| New York | 5 | 0 | 0 |
| Virginia | 4 | 1 | 0 |
| Illinois | 3 | 0 | 1 |
| Washington | 3 | 0 | 1 |
| Michigan | 2 | 0 | 0 |
| Missouri | 2 | 0 | 0 |
| New Jersey | 2 | 0 | 0 |
| Colorado | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Connecticut | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Delaware | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Indiana | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Kentucky | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Louisiana | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Minnesota | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Nevada | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| North Carolina | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Oklahoma | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Pennsylvania | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| South Carolina | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Tennessee | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Utah | 1 | 0 | 0 |
What a full course costs
A single figure rarely describes what a patient pays. Published research on surgical treatment for lipedema describes a course of more than one operation in most cases, commonly two to three, with the number depending on stage and on how much tissue is treated. Applied to the published figures above, a full course commonly reaches the tens of thousands of dollars.
If you are paying cash, the figure that matters is the full course rather than the per-area or per-stage quote. If you have out-of-network benefits, what matters more is whether the practice files claims and supports an appeal, which is compared at insurance posture by practice.
| Country | Practices listed | Published figures where stated |
|---|---|---|
| Australia | 4 | N/A |
| Austria | 4 | N/A |
| Brazil | 3 | N/A |
| Canada | 3 | N/A |
| Cyprus | 2 | N/A |
| Czechia | 1 | N/A |
| France | 2 | N/A |
| Germany | 13 | N/A |
| Greece | 2 | N/A |
| India | 1 | N/A |
| Italy | 4 | N/A |
| Mexico | 3 | N/A |
| Netherlands | 6 | N/A |
| New Zealand | 3 | N/A |
| Poland | 1 | N/A |
| Spain | 5 | N/A |
| Sweden | 1 | N/A |
| Switzerland | 1 | N/A |
| Turkey | 2 | N/A |
| United Arab Emirates | 1 | N/A |
| United Kingdom | 7 | N/A |
Full US and international price comparison
Insurance posture
| Posture | Practices |
|---|---|
| In network with some plans | 4 |
| Files claims for the patient | 7 |
| Assists with filing, out of network | 8 |
| Out of network only | 2 |
| Cash pay only | 4 |
| Not yet recorded | 48 |
Coverage varies by insurer and by plan. Many experienced US lipedema surgeons are out of network, and initial denials are common, so it is prudent to plan for out-of-pocket costs while pursuing coverage.
Self-pay acceptance and booking horizon are recorded only where the practice has stated them to us directly, which at present is 3 of 73 practices. Those fields come from calls and returned forms rather than from a website, so the recorded count grows as verification continues. A field that has not been confirmed is shown as not recorded rather than inferred.
Which insurers have a written lipedema policy · How to appeal a denied claim
Method and dates
Practices were identified from their own published material, from professional listings and from patient communities, and each was confirmed to offer lipedema surgery specifically before being listed. Prices were captured from the practice's own website where published, and recorded with the basis the practice stated. A listing is counted as verified when the practice has confirmed its details by telephone or by returning the written verification form; 4 of 73 have done so, most recently on . Practice-reported and unverified listings are labelled as such and never merged into the verified count. The directory is reviewed continuously and this page is rebuilt from the underlying data on every change, so the counts above and the CSV below always agree.
Cite this page
Lipedema Central. Lipedema surgery cost and insurance in the United States, 2026: data from every listed practice. September 2026. https://lipedemacentral.com/data/lipedema-surgery-cost-and-insurance-2026/
Data may be quoted with attribution to Lipedema Central.
Download the underlying table as CSV · Press contact
The full practice dataset
Every listed US practice, with location, techniques, anesthesia, insurance posture and published pricing where a practice publishes one. This is the file behind the counts on this page.
Download as CSV · Download as JSON. Free to reuse with attribution under CC BY 4.0.